Meet the Lovable Lineup of Puppy Bowl XIII

Get ready to rumble! Team Ruff and Team Fluff will face off once again in every dog lover's favorite sporting event of the year: Animal Planet’s Puppy Bowl.

When it airs on Super Bowl Sunday, Feb. 5, 78 playful puppies from 34 shelters in 22 states will take to the field to showcase their adorable antics.


The adoptable puppies will compete for the first-ever Petco Lombarky trophy after a special kickoff appearance by none other than famed groundhog Punxsutawney Phil. Veteran “rufferee” Dan Schachner will be looking for puppy penalties and Terrier touchdowns in his sixth Puppy Bowl appearance.

Of course, the kitty halftime show is must-see TV, too. This year, it features a performance by feline musical group Chicago Rock Cats with Kitty Gaga singing “Puparazzi” to adoptable rescue kittens.


In an inspiring addition to the lineup, Puppy Bowl XIII will feature three extra-special pups who have disabilities they will strive to overcome: Doobert, who’s deaf; Lucky, who’s three-legged; and Winston, who’s both hearing and sight impaired.

We have a feeling that by the end of the show, all of the players will be winners as they find forever homes.


The Puppy Bowl XIII will be simulcast on both coasts starting with a pregame show at 2 p.m. EST/11 a.m. PST, and kickoff is at 3 p.m. EST/noon PST. It repeats all day and night for a total of 10 hours on game day. While you anxiously await the big day, check out some of the puppy contenders in the starting lineups for Team Ruff and Team Fluff below. Which team will you be rooting for?

The 2017 Puppy Bowl Starting Lineup

Puppy Bowl 13 Alexander Hamilpup

Animal Planet

Name: Alexander Hamilpup
Breed: Pomsky
Age: 19 weeks
Rescue Group: Florida Little Dog Rescue, Florida
Team: Fluff

Puppy Bowl 13 Foster

Animal Planet

Name: Foster
Breed: Bernese Mountain Dog mix
Age: 19 weeks
Rescue Group: One Tail at a Time, Illinois
Team: Ruff

Lucky Puppy Bowl 13

Animal Planet

Name: Lucky
Breed: Terrier mix
Age: 16 weeks
Rescue Group: Operation Education Rescue, Tennessee
Team: Fluff

Puddles Puppy Bowl 13

Animal Planet

Name: Puddles
Breed: Cocker Spaniel / Shih Tzu mix
Age: 13 weeks
Rescue Group: Florida Little Dog Rescue, Florida
Team: Ruff

Puppy Bowl 13 Slippers

Animal Planet

Name: Slippers
Breed: Pomeranian / Havanese mix
Age: 17 weeks
Rescue Group: Help Save Pets, Illinois
Team: Fluff

Puppy Bowl 13 Smooshie

Animal Planet

Name: Smooshie
Breed: Shar-Pei
Age: 12 weeks
Rescue Group: Florida Little Dog Rescue, Florida
Team: Ruff

Tucker Puppy Bowl 13

Animal Planet

Name: Tucker
Breed: Australian Shepherd mix
Age: 16 weeks
Rescue Group: Williamson County Animal Shelter, Tennessee
Team: Fluff

Winter Puppy Bowl 13

Animal Planet

Name: Winter
Breed: Jack Russell Terrier mix
Age: 14 weeks
Rescue Group: Paw Works, California
Team: Ruff

More on Vetstreet:

Google+

Join the Conversation

Like this article? Have a point of view to share? Let us know!